According to The Lord of the Rings.

* Aragorn: It had to take the Paths of the Dead.

* Beregond: They say that chickens who go crossing the road look ever to the next hope of food and of drink; though I am not a chicken myself.

* Bilbo: What a pity! I should have liked to see it again.

* Boromir: It did not cross save by unhappy chance.

* Denethor: The chicken should have been brought to the Citadel to be kept safe; hidden; dark in the deepest vault; not to have crossed the Road … except at the uttermost end of need.

* Elrond: We had to send the chicken to the Fire.

* Èomer: You need not ask further. The chicken is destroyed.

* Èowen: Because it feared to stay on this side of the road until use and old age accepted it, and all chance of crossing the road was gone beyond recall or desire.

* Faramir: The chicken crossed the road? That is news indeed, if it be true.

* Farmer Maggot: Because I set the dogs on to it: here, Grip! Fang!

* Frodo: It took the Ring – though it did not know the way.

* Galadriel: It passed the test. It will diminish, and pass into the coop, and remain a chicken.

* Gandalf: The desire to cross was too great for its strength.

* Gimli: This is a thing unheard of; a chicken cross the road and a dwarf dare not?!

* Gollum: What is it that crossed the road, precious? Is it crunchable? Is it tasty?

* Grishnákh: Everything the chicken knows will be got out of it in due time: everything!

* Háma: I believed it was a friend and a chicken worthy of honour, who had no evil purpose. I let it cross the road.

* Hamfast (the Gaffer) Gamgee: I can’t abide chickens, not at my time of life, and least of all chickens that cross the road.

* Legolas: Not through lack of watchfulness, but perhaps through over-kindliness … I also will cross; for I do not fear the road.

* Merry: Go to sleep! You’ll find out enough, sooner or later.

* Nazgûl: Come not between the chicken and the road, or it shall not cross thee in thy turn.

* Pippin: It is the sign of our fall, and the shadow of doom.

* Sam: To show its quality: the very highest.

* Sauron: This chicken is not for you. I will send for it at once.

* Saruman: I do not doubt that it found the Road commodious, and its crossing convenient.

* Théoden: It was a great crossing. There is none like to the chicken. In it one of the mighty fowls of old has crossed the road. None such shall cross again.

* Treebeard: It was much too hasty. We do not cross a road unless it is worth taking a long time to cross.

* Uglúk: It was running – with me behind it.

