Like Amelie Poulain, I like to notice things. Being a writer and editor, I noticed the title of a new movie about a bride-made man-maid of honour, Made of Honour. The title is a simple play on words but the aspect that got my attention was that the movie is American: that is, made in the US, with US actors, a US situational comedy script and, one presumes, US spelling.

I have a zephyrical amour with US spelling. Being a several-generations Australian, I inherited my linguistic hoonackeries from the British system. Thus I natively spell “colour” with “our” rather than the American “or”. The variation doesn’t affect the pronunciation – but please, my dear, even my darling, States-isticians, please pronounce the word “aluminium” as it is spelled (al-u-MIN-i-um), not “al-OOM-in-um”… Er, where was I? Oh yes, the British variation is thanks to the influence of the French. Anyway, the point is that the US spelling of honour is “honor”.

So why is the title of the aforementioned movie “Made of Honour“? I don’t think it is because that’s the title of the role and so you have to keep the same spelling. It isn’t a title that has international ramifications if you don’t spell it correctly, and the position is also known as “chief bridesmaid”. I doubt anyone would balk at the presence or absence of “u”.

So we return to the question – “United States, have you compromised your honor?” Or is it only that your film editors are abysmal at spelling? If so, how does Mr Spelling, an entertainment industry giant, feel about editors?

